Beauty · Haul · Nail Polish · Swatches

Treat-Yo-Self Fridays: A Mini Essie Haul ✿

☆ 2017! ☆

Granted, my first post of the year is a little late but I made it to the party in the end 😉

I’m a big believer in the ‘Treat-yo-self’ way of thinking, so I couldn’t resist this little set of Essie polishes when I saw them in Boots a couple of weeks ago. Boots always has some great gift sets during Christmas, but the even better part is when all of the leftover sets get reduced to crazy prices for us to snatch up in January!

photo-20-01-2017-1-56-22-pmThe set I bought contains three full-sized Essie nail polishes. The original price was £15 but had been halved to £7.50; pretty great considering a single Essie polish is £7.99.

The set includes;

  1. Midnight Cami
  2. Thigh High
  3. Limo-Scene

— Descriptions for the colours are taken from Essie’s website, since they do a much better job of describing the colours than I do. —

Midnight Cami

photo-20-01-2017-2-16-51-pm
‘A shimmering deep twilight blue’

I’ve been looking for a really deep, blue-black colour for a while, and Midnight Cami definitely fits the bill. It really pops when it catches the light; a very shiny/shimmery navy shade.

You could probably get away with just one coat, but I applied two just to be sure.

Thigh High

photo-20-01-2017-2-07-36-pm
‘A deep and frosty bold ruby red’

Thigh High is a pretty, deep true red colour, which is a refreshing change from the pinky-reds that I usually gravitate towards. I can see why it was included in a Christmas set since it’s rather festive to look at, but that won’t stop me from wearing it any other month of the year!

Again, I’d recommend two coats with this one just to be sure your coverage is even.

Limo-Scene

photo-20-01-2017-1-55-11-pm
‘A sheer pastel pink’

(Please excuse my failed attempt at nail stamping).

Admittedly this was the colour I was least excited about in the set. I kinda feel like once you have one pale pink polish, you have them all? Nevertheless, Limo-scene is a very pretty, pale colour that was refreshing to wear after dedicating the last couple of months to dark, wintry shades.

I applied three coats since I felt two coats wasn’t quite enough, but that was just me being cautious!

~ X ~

Three shades I very much welcomed into my Essie collection!

What’s been your favourite Essie colour this winter?

xo

Tash

2 thoughts on “Treat-Yo-Self Fridays: A Mini Essie Haul ✿

Leave a Reply

