Autumn · Beauty · Lipstick · Review · Shopping · Swatches · Uncategorized

The Berry Lipstick Hall of Fame

Autumn is well and truly here which only means one thing – berry lipsticks have returned (Woo!).

photo-04-11-2016-2-34-06-pm

I thought I’d celebrate this joyous occasion by rounding up all of my favourite and most frequently used berry lipsticks to share with you. I’ve included swatches on my hands for comparisons, as well as a mini review of each lipstick.

Let’s get started!

Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm in Sultry (£7.99)

photo-04-11-2016-2-43-09-pm

Sultry has had a permanent spot in my makeup bag for a long time now (as you can tell from how much I’ve used it!). It’s the perfect berry colour to wear during the day since it’s not too dark to be considered ‘vampy’ (not that I shy away from vampy colours during the day, but if you’re going for a less intense berry colour, then Sultry is your gal).

It applies smoothly, it smells like mint and is super comfortable to wear. When my lips aren’t in the mood for a drying lipstick, Sultry is the first one I reach for.

This one is a close contender for being my ULTIMATE FAV.

Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm in Fierce (£7.99)

photo-04-11-2016-2-46-14-pm

Fierce is a recent purchase for me so I haven’t had much experience in wearing it. I bought it because I’ve been in love with the formula of Sultry for ages, and I thought I’d try a darker colour from this Revlon range.

It’s definitely the most brown-toned of all of the lipsticks I’ve picked out, but on the lips, it’s more red than it looks in the picture.

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Rome (£5.50)

photo-04-11-2016-2-47-50-pm

Oh, Rome. You beauty. Just looking at you makes me want to sing with joy.

I know I said that Sultry was a close contender for being my ultimate fav but it’s definitely been beaten by Rome because I mean… look at it. It’s the PERFECT every day berry colour.

I love the NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams; they can be a touch drying and I wish they’d last a bit longer but the colours are awesome and they smell good as well!

NYX Lip Lingerie in Exotic (£6.50)

photo-04-11-2016-2-50-56-pm

To be honest, I didn’t even plan on buying this lipstick. I originally went into Boots to pick up Ruffle Trim but that one was out of stock and I was too stubborn to leave without buying a single thing.

Be warned, this is very drying (as my temperamental lips find most liquid lipsticks to be). If I want to wear this, I usually have to prepare the night before by using a lip scrub and an overnight cream or moisturiser. But it’s worth it! The colour is beautiful, and one of the darkest lipsticks that I own. Very pigmented and lasts the longest of all of the lipsticks I’ve picked out.

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick in Beau Brun (£8.99)

photo-04-11-2016-2-52-45-pm

I suppose some might say that this one is more red than berry. Nevertheless, it’s a really lovely colour than I gravitate towards during colder months, and it’s pretty comfortable to wear.

You could compare the texture and consistency of Beau Brun to a Soft Matte Lip Cream – very soft when you apply it until it dries matte. I’d recommend wearing a lip balm underneath this one since it can be a teeny bit drying (though I find most lipsticks to be).

Rimmel London Kate Lasting Finish Lipstick in 30 (£5.49)

photo-04-11-2016-2-55-08-pm

Definitely the most purple-toned of the bunch today! I’ve collected several Kate lipsticks over the years and I like them a lot. They’re quite creamy and not nearly as drying as the liquid lipsticks that I own. It can apply a little unevenly sometimes though, as you can probably tell from the swatch.

I really like wearing this one on a night out to match a classic black liquid eyeliner look.

Swatch comparisons

photo-04-11-2016-3-00-58-pm
(L-R) Sultry, Fierce, Rome, Exotic, Beau Brun, 30

This is by no means an exhaustive list and there are definitely plenty of must-have berry lipsticks that I’ve missed, so let me know what your favourite is!

14 thoughts on “The Berry Lipstick Hall of Fame

  1. I love Longerie. But I have creme in Antwerp by NYX and I don’t like the formula on my lips. But the longerie edition is much better formula the cremes I don’t personally like, in my opinion it is sillicony feeling. But nice post with some nice colors 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

