Autumn · Beauty · Essie · Favourites · October · Review · Shopping · Uncategorized

October Favourites 2016

Because who doesn’t love a classic Monthly Favourites post?

photo-03-11-2016-12-53-46-pm

All of my favourites this month are of course beauty related (when aren’t they?) but I’ve thrown in quite a varied selection of products. We’ve got makeup, makeup tools, nail polish and body care, so surely there will be at least one thing that appeals to everybody, right?

Let’s get started!

Makeup Revolution Face Precision Oval Brush (£9.99)

photo-03-11-2016-2-36-45-pm

This brush has shot straight to the top of my favourites list. I’ve been curious about oval brushes since the Artis brushes went viral (but even just looking at those made my wallet curl up and cry). When I saw that Makeup Revolution had come out with their own set I bought one straight away – Makeup Revolution has never let me down before.

And wow, I don’t think I’ll go back to my old foundation brushes ever again.

The bristles are packed very densely so that the foundation sits right on top of the brush. This allows for a more even and flawless application which leaves no visible brush strokes on the skin unlike many other brushes. I find that the application is also very quick – I’ve never finished my makeup so fast in my life!

I picked up the Face Precision Brush, though there is also a Face Precision Large Brush if you are after something a little bigger.

Now, I’m interested to try the next size down for applying concealer, because this one is slightly too big to blend under-eye concealer properly.

Nanolash Eyelash Serum (£39.00)

photo-03-11-2016-2-21-32-pm

Now, I was hesitant to try this because of the somewhat hefty price tag (a lot more than I’d usually spend on a single product, plus there was a £10 delivery charge). But I spent a long time researching eyelash serums, and this one had the best reviews and the most reasonable price, so I took a chance.

I’m glad I did, because it has actually worked!

It applies just like a liquid eyeliner. I put it on every night after taking off my makeup, though you could use it in the morning instead as long as you give it five minutes to dry properly.

Nanolash says that you’ll see results after around 30 days and I’ve been using it for about seven weeks now. Even during the first few weeks, whilst my eyelashes weren’t longer, they were behaving so much better. Easier to curl and less prone to sticking out in odd directions (which they have been known to do before).

At around the sixth week, my eyelashes suddenly popped. They’re now long and thick enough that I’ve been asked if I’m wearing fake eyelashes – nope, all real, baby!

Soap and Glory Supercat Eyeliner Pen Carbon Black Extreme (£6.00)

photo-03-11-2016-2-57-21-pm

Wow, what a short and easy-to-remember name for an eyeliner!

I’m not the most experienced with liquid eyeliners but I’m liking this one a lot. It looks quite thick, like a felt tip pen, but it’s actually much easier to draw very thin lines which is the look I usually go for. Can be used for a thicker, more dramatic line as well, as I tried to show on my hand.

It’s also a very reasonable price! Another hit from Soap and Glory.

Essie nail polishes (£7.99 each)

photo-03-11-2016-2-41-45-pm

I’ve suddenly become obsessed with Essie polishes (as you can probably tell from my Essie Haul + Swatches post). I just really love how shiny the formula is, and the wonderful colour selection.

I’ve been especially obsessed with Chinchilly, In Stitches and Angora Cardi. How gorgeously Autumn are they all?!

If you’d like to read my more detailed review of Essie polishes, check out my Essie haul which I’ve linked above.

E45 Intense Recovery Hand Cream (£3.99)

photo-03-11-2016-2-23-42-pm

Okay, so a hand cream isn’t the most exciting of products, I know. But I’ve been suffering from dry hands a lot this month and this cream has been working wonders.

We’ve all seen and used an E45 cream before, so we know it works. We know it’s good. It’s got dermatological in the name. But I’ve put it in my favourites because I was impressed by just how fast it works – within an hour my dry, flaky palms were as good as new!

Pitrok Natural Anti-Perspirant Deodorant (£4.05)

photo-03-11-2016-2-23-12-pm

I’ve gotta say, this deodorant is something else. I was looking for something a bit stronger than what I usually use since my current job requires quite a lot of running around, and sweat patches are just a big no-no.

I only need to apply this deodorant once in the morning and then I’m good for the rest of the day. It’s a miracle worker, I tell you.

The only thing about this deodorant is that it’s not an aerosol spray like most other deodorants; it’s actually a very wet spray. I have to apply it and then wait five minutes for it to dry before getting dressed. This means that it’s not ideal to put in your bag for quick touch-ups during the day since it’ll probably dampen your clothes.

However, there is also a Pitrok Deodorant Stick which would probably make a better alternative for when you’re out and about (though I haven’t tried this one).

~X~

photo-03-11-2016-12-41-10-pm

So, those were a few things I’ve been obsessed with this month!

Tell me, what beauty products have you been loving lately?

3 thoughts on “October Favourites 2016

Leave a Reply

